2018 League Alignment

The British American Football Association (BAFA) have announced a further expansion of Division 1 of the National League from 20 to 24 teams for the 2018 season and sees the Eagles remain in the SFC1 Central Conference.

Joining the Lancashire Wolverines in NFC 1 North this year are 2017 opponents Gateshead Senators, Glasgow TigersLeeds BobcatsNorthumberland Vikings & Yorkshire Rams.

Each team will play each other twice during the regular season (once at home and once away). Details of the regular season schedule are expected to be announced in the coming weeks but will take place between Sunday 15th April and Sunday 19th August.


NFC 1 North

  • Gateshead Senators
  • Glasgow Tigers
  • Lancashire Wolverines
  • Leeds Bobcats
  • Northumberland Vikings
  • Yorkshire Rams

NFC 1 South

  • Coventry Jets
  • Doncaster Mustangs
  • Leicester Falcons
  • Nottingham Caesars
  • Sandwell Steelers
  • Shropshire Revolution

SFC 1 Central

  • Berkshire Renegades
  • Bristol Apache
  • Oxford Saints
  • Ouse Valley Eagles
  • Solent Thrashers
  • Sussex Thunder

SFC 1 South

  • Cambridgeshire Cats
  • Colchester Gladiators
  • East Kent Mavericks
  • Kent Exiles
  • London Hornets
  • Wembley Stallions

2017 Play-Off Structure

As per the 2017 season, eight teams in Division 1 will progress to the playoffs, consisting of the top two teams in each of the four conferences (NFC 1 North, NFC 1 South, SFC 1 Central and SFC1  East).

The first round of the playoffs will see the #1 seed in the SFC/NFC face and #4 seed, and the #2 seed meet the #3 ranked team.

The Division 1 Championship will be decided between the NFC 1 and SFC 1 winners.